Mommy diaries · The Postman

Feeling EXPOSED! Some facts about me


The Blog Tag is making me do this. I started blogging this week, so I decided to be part of their Mommy Week challenge. It has been a good week.

Here is a Q&A with your truly:

1. When did you become a mom/dad?
I gave birth to a Princess on 21 December last year, but I became a mom when I married my husband three years ago. He has a daughter who will be 22 years old in August this year.

2. How many kids do you have and what are their names?
I would rather not give my kids’ names, shame. Don’t want the whole internet to know. The younger one we refer to as Princess and the older one, her daddy calls her Angel.

3. Do you want more children?
Yes

me

4. What is the most challenging thing about being a mom/dad?
My life is no longer my own. Decisions I make is mainly around the baby. Wow and there is a lot I don’t know about parenting – that’s scary, the unknown. I am learning as I go along.

5. What was your first reaction when you found out you were having a baby?
Happiness

6. Does your child/children have a favourite toy they can’t live without?
Princess likes to chew on clothes’ labels. She also plays with Daddy’s percussion and a smurf toy. I should actually ask Angel what she cannot live without. She’s a chef and one of her hobbies is beadwork. So I guess it’s something in the kitchen…

7. Are you a stay at home parent? If so how has being a stay at home parent impacted your life? If not how do you handle work and family?
I am a working mom. I learn as I go along. I love that Princess enjoys going to crèche and that she loves her teachers – and they love her. I have to pick her up at a certain time. That’s an adjustment, because I use to be the last one leaving the office.

8. Do you co-sleep?
Yes

9. What is your child’s favourite TV show?
Ice Age

10. Favourite baby/kid item that makes your life easier?
Wet wipes

11. Why did you start blogging about your kids?
I want to remember moments – especially on how I felt. I also have friends that are becoming parents soon, so I want to share my experiences.

12. What are your favourite baby care brands?
No comment

13. What are you favourite kid friendly restaurants?
We have not been to any yet.

14. Have you been on holiday with your kids, how was that experience? If not where would you like to go?
We drove from Johannesburg to Cape Town, from there to Port Nolloth, back to Johannesburg. Princess was three months old. When we came back, it was a challenge, she didn’t like the long driving. Her body was sore.

15. Do you have any help with your children family, friends a nanny?
Family lives in the Northern Cape and Western Cape. Sometimes we have friends that help. Also, Princess is at a crèche. If I’m worried about something I contact my church friends or other surrounding friends for advice. Angel lives in Cape Town, she’s an adult. We live in Johannesburg.

16. What are your favourite places to shop for your kids?
I normally buy where I can find inexpensive clothes, because babies are messy and they grow quickly.

17. Your kids’ naughtiest moment.
No comment

18. What is your best advice for new parents?
Don’t be too hard on yourself. And it’s gonna get better.

19. Have you had any bad experiences as a parent?
I accidentally hurt Princess while trying to open her jacket’s zipper.

20. Complete the sentence I love being a mom BECAUSE it just came naturally.

Quick Fire:
Huggies vs Pampers = Pampers
Breast Feed vs Bottle = BOTH
Home School vs. Public/Private School = Public/Private School
Stay at home mom vs Working mom = working mom
Character Themed Nursery vs. Colour Themed Nursery = Undecided

3 thoughts on “Feeling EXPOSED! Some facts about me

  1. LOL! Ice age has a tv show now? That’s so cool.
    Hahah princess and angel, I can understand your reservation about giving out names.
    What is Co-sleep?
    Was great getting to know more about your mommy life

    1. No man, we have a dvd of Ice Age. One of the old ones, shame. My husband makes us watch it over and over and over again. Strangely enough I see new things in that movie every time I watch it. Well, I watch it while doing something like clean the dishes 🙂 Thanks for reading.

Leave a comment